Day 41 – An Ice Breaker

Well for this post, you can join in by going to the kitchen and ripping off a sheet of kitchen foil and waving it around whilst you read the post! This is the sound that I have been listening to all day as I break my way through the ice which was 1cm thick in places. The cracking of the ice was a nice change to the usual murmur of the engine. Normally, I would be shocked by the sound of things hitting my prop, but with it churning up ice as I go, I just had to distinguish the noise of an actual object hitting the prop.
But as planned, I have achieved about 21 miles today. 2 locks and a swing bridge that wasn’t a swing bridge and a swing bridge that was not actually on the canal! So Plank Lane swing bridge as is mentioned in all guides, is in fact a lift bridge, go figure. Has been for 50 years apparently but the name has just stuck it would seem. Plus an old couple offered to open it for me which was kind.
Then Barton swing bridge, actually isn’t across the canal, but rather across the Manchester Shipping Canal which I also crossed on an aqueduct parallel to the swing bridge. So that makes a change.
So tomorrow is mainly cruising and tunnels. Preston Brook Tunnel (1239yrds), Saltersford Tunnel (424yrds) and Barnton Tunnel (572yrds) and all of them are crooked, so that means I can’t see the other end which I think is a bit unnerving. It’s always nice to have something to aim at, but shall have to follow the side of the tunnel until I pop out the other end I guess.
The target is Anderton which also is home to the Anderton lift. So shall try and get some nice pictures for you since I shall be spending the night there!
Still on for the 28th back at Venetian Marina (so take note guys), but I shall be booking the train for the 29th as I don’t want to tempt fate.
So that’s me for this Boxing Day, hope you have all had a great Christmas. 2 days and counting till the tour is over, it’s gone so quick.
Well until tomorrow…

2 Comments on “Day 41 – An Ice Breaker

  1. I shall miss your daily updates and lovely pictures, it’s been great to have a little share in your adventure.

  2. Well, that just about makes it full house – breakdowns, blockages, wind, rain, snow and now .. ice! You’ve endured all the essential elements of a proper solo round the world (well middle England) adventure – and barring a last minute hiccup return the conquering hero!

Leave a comment